About Southeast Community Services Center

The mission of Southeast Community Services, Inc. is to "work together to serve, strengthen and support our neighbors in southeast Indianapolis."

We advance our mission by:

 

· Building a sense of community in southeast Indianapolis.

 

· Seeking resident participation and encouraging resident leadership.

 

· Serving as a gateway and connector to resources in employment, education, social services                  and community leadership.

 

· Providing the tools to support neighbors in creating positive changes in their lives.

 

· Coordinating our efforts with the Southeast Quality of Life Plan and partners.

 

History:

Southeast Community Services was organized in 1972 through Mayor Richard Lugar's office as a consortium of area agencies and neighborhood groups to deliver needed services to the near southeast side of Indianapolis.  Originally known as the Southeast Multi-Service Center, the organization shortened its name to Southeast Community Services in 2000.

 

Since our founding in 1972, we have been committed to addressing the diverse needs of  residents, from youth to seniors.  Our overall goal is to help residents lead dignified, fulfilling, and self-sufficient lives.

 

Facility:

Located in the heart of the Fountain Square district at 901 Shelby Street, our facility is easily accessible by foot and bus line.  In 2003, we facilitated a major renovation of our facility, Fountain Square Center.  In April 2009, we completed a major renovation of our computer lab (with generous support from the Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust and United Way of Central Indiana).  The renovation included new equipment (25 workstations), new software, and renovation work such as modifying the floor surfaces, replacing carpeting and relocating electrical circuitry.

 

Service Area:

The geographic boundaries of our primary service area are Washington Street on the north to Thompson Road on the south, and Post Road on the east to I-65 on the west.  Most clients matriculate from the Fountain Square cultural district, but we serve anyone who walks through our doors, regardless of primary residence. 

Staff

 

Terri Garcia, Executive Director

terrig@southeastindy.org

 

Elsy Banegas, 1st Floor Receptionist

elsyb@southeastindy.org

 

Paulette Deal , Staff Support

pauletted@southeastindy.org

 

Carlette Duffy, Employment Coach

carletted@southeastindy.org

 

Tori Calvert, Employment Coach

toric@southeastindy.org

 

Janice Holley, Employment Coach

janiceh@southeastindy.org

 

Antonio Arrieta, Financial Coach

antonioa@southeastindy.org

 

Ashley Piland, Financial Coach

ashleyp@southeastindy.org

Erin Biggs, Income Supports

erinb@southeastindy.org

 

Jan Hise, Education Specialist

Janh@southeastindy.org

 

Tiffany Boyd, Youth Program Coordinator

tiffanyb@southeastindy.org

 

Elaine Cates, Senior Coordinator

elainec@southeastindy.org

 

Jan Fiscus, Community & Parent Coordinator

fiscusja@ips.k12.in.us

 

Kate Voss, Community & Parent Coordinator

vosskz@ips.k12.in.us

 

Brian Kern, Computer Training/Resource Center Specialist

briank@southeastindy.org

 

Ondina Schrunder, Computer Training/Resource Center Specialist

ondinas@southeastindy.org

Board Of Directors

 

Catherine Esselman, Chair

Vice President

Penn Real Estate Inc.

Neighborhood Resident

 

Yvonne Harrington, Vice Chair

Vice President, Key Bank

 

 Michael P. McCormick, Secretary

Certified Public Accountant

Neighborhood Resident

 

Charles M. Corbin, CPA, Treasurer

CFO, Orchard School Foundation, Inc.

 

Joseph E. Simpson

Indiana Legal Services, Director of Administration


Darrell Unsworth

Director of Community Economic

Development

Community Health Network

 

 

 

Brenda McAtee

President, Norwood Neighborhood

Association

Neighborhood Resident

 

Patrinah Bennett

Technical Support Manager

University of Indianapolis

 

Bryan Orander

President, Charitable Advisors

 

Jim Rink

Executive Vice President

Farm Bureau Insurance

 

Jeanette Sawi

Santorini Greek Kitchen, Owner

 

Rachel East

Attorney, Lewis and Wilkins, LLP